Louisiana Golf Cart Laws
Louisiana is an interesting state when it comes to golf cart laws because they are often among the strictest.
They require license and registration when riding golf carts or low-speed vehicles on any public road.
They also demand that you have limited liability insurance.
These rules make Louisiana one of the most strict of all states in the country.
Note: the term “parish” is a Louisiana phrase used to indicate individual areas in the state, similarly to how most use the term “counties.”
Federal Laws Matter Here
Federal law on golf carts is limited to restricting them from federal and international roads.
Otherwise, they allow states to create their own rules and regulations for golf cart use.
They do have more strict interpretations for low-speed vehicles, which are those that are manufactured to go over 20 miles per hour but no faster than 25 miles per hour.
Guidelines for Low-Speed Vehicles in Louisiana
Currently, Louisiana has pretty specific guidelines for what they consider a low-speed vehicle.
They follow federal guidelines that suggest these vehicles ride faster than 20 miles per hour but slower than 25 miles per hour.
All low-speed vehicles must possess four wheels, so a configured bicycle does not fall under this heading.
However, more upgrades are necessary before a golf cart is a low-speed vehicle.
Louisiana statute states that all low-speed vehicles need the following: headlights; taillights; stop lights, front and rear turn signals; reflex reflectors; exterior mirrors on driver’s side; exterior mirror on passengers side OR rearview mirror; upgraded parking brakes; windshield on front of vehicle; operating windshield wipers; speedometer; odometer; and seat belts for each rider in the cart.
These guidelines are more strict than several other states, as many don’t require odometers or speedometers.
Some don’t even require windshields, though that is quite a rare exception.
Once a golf cart is upgraded to fit these guidelines, they are ready to be registered, licensed, and insured.
At that point, they can take to the road as a low-speed vehicle.
Legal Regulations for Golf Cart Use
After you have upgraded your golf cart to a low-speed vehicle, you must take it to a DMV official and submit a variety of forms to get it registered.
These include: a completed vehicle application form; a manufacturer’s statement of origin; if you do not have that form, an NHTSA-approved Registered Importer’s certificate is allowed; an itemized invoice on the make, year, model, and body style of the cart; the odometer disclosure statement; an original copy of the UCC-1 form; proof of liability insurance; and fees for registration and licensing of the vehicle.
These fees are all paid after a DMV official takes a look at your golf cart and decides that it qualifies as a low-speed vehicle.
The cart must travel faster than 20 miles per hour but no faster than 25 miles per hour.
It must also weigh less than 3,000 pounds and have the upgrades mentioned in the previous section.
Once the official is satisfied that you have met these requirements, they can grant you a VIN.
At this point, you can then do the legal process mentioned above.
Currently, Louisiana allows the use of low-speed vehicles on any road that has been certified by local authorities for such use.
These roads cannot exceed speeds of 35 miles per hour.
However, carts may cross roads with faster speeds as long as they are at an appropriate and designated intersection for such purpose.
Importantly, carts may be prohibited from certain areas, so check with local authorities on where and when you can ride a low-speed vehicle.
Golf Cart Use Regulations
If you do not upgrade your cart, you are very limited in where you can take it.
Louisiana has banned all golf cart use except in specific circumstances.
For example, a parish mayor of a city may allow the use of golf carts on specific roads.
These municipalities must post where these roads are located and must strictly enforce traffic law here to ensure that riding is legal.
Golf carts are also safe to used to cross state or local highways where a golf cart is constructed on both sides of the road.
Riders must use the appropriate golf-course road when crossing and must be on the local or state road as briefly as possible.
These intersections should be noted with a sign set up by the golf course and the local or state authorities in this area.
And in areas where you can operate a golf cart on a parish or city street, you must do so with a valid driver’s license.
Children with permits are not allowed to drive carts.
Children over the age of 12 can ride on a cart driven by a licensed individual, however.
Please note: cart use on private roads is not restricted in these ways. The same is true of low-speed vehicle use on private roads.
Federal Golf Cart Laws
Even though our guides are thorough and researched, it is highly recommended that you perform your own research and check with your local municipality on rules as well.