Maine Golf Cart Laws
Maine is a beautiful state with many wildlife areas and gorgeous scenery that is hard to top.
They also have many golf courses and golf cart owners in the state.
As a result, they have several laws that dictate when and where you can use golf carts.
These regulations are quite lax in some areas but stricter in others.
Please Note Federal Guidelines
The federal government does not set strict rules on golf cart use but does limit them from federal and international highways.
As a result, each state has laws that apply to golf cart use within their borders.
Often, many states allow each community to decide what rules they want to follow.
However, the federal government does have some guidelines for carts turned into a low-speed vehicle.
A cart is not considered this type of vehicle because it cannot travel over 20 miles per hour on manufacture.
Upgrades can turn it into a low-speed vehicle, though, and it must follow all laws dictating its use.
Maine Laws on Golf Cart Use
Maine has some of the most interesting golf cart laws in the nation.
For example, while their low-speed vehicle laws are pretty similar to other states, they have separate laws that dictate golf cart use without modification.
They grant this authority to cities and regions, rather than having state-wide rules that you must follow.
As a result, you must pay attention to this facet before you ride a golf cart.
However, the state does have a few restrictions in place for golf cart use on any city or state roads.
For example, you must ride on the extreme right side of the road to stay away from traffic.
You must also ride your cart in the same direction as traffic – unlike walkers, golf carts are considered vehicles of a sort.
And any road on which you travel must be labeled as a golf cart access route.
This factor is the most limiting element of golf cart travel in Maine.
For example, you cannot ride on a road that does not have conspicuous signs placed at regular intervals stating that the road is for golf cart access.
These roads are often near golf courses or in areas with a large number of courses.
So pay attention to this element to ensure that you don’t make any transportation mistakes.
Low-Speed Vehicle Laws to Consider
While Maine is one of a handful of states to let golf carts travel on some public roads without upgrades, they also have separate guidelines for low-speed vehicles.
Most golf-cart travel in the state is likely to be that of vehicles upgraded in this way.
Please note: any golf cart upgraded to a low-speed vehicle is no longer considered a golf cart by a motor vehicle by federal, state, and local law.
Guidelines for these carts are fairly simple. First of all, you need four wheels – which most golf carts should already possess.
However, golf carts must be upgraded to travel more than 20 miles per hour but no more than 25 miles per hour on a paved level surface.
The cart must also weigh less than 3,000 pounds and must be registered with the local DMV.
This requires you to get the cart inspected to meet federal and state safety standards.
At this point, you’ll get a VIN and can register and license your cart.
Upgrades that you need to add to your cart include windshields, seat belts, stop lights, turn signals, taillights, headlights, reflex reflectors, parking brakes, rearview mirrors, and more.
These upgrades must be done according to state and federal law or they may be null and void.
Contact a local golf cart repair technician to upgrade your cart in this way.
Doing so minimizes any issues.
Laws Dictating Cart Use
Once you have upgraded your cart and it is ready to get on the road, you need to make sure that you follow all laws dictating cart use.
These include following on rules and restrictions of normal motor vehicles when on the road.
Remember: your cart is now a motor vehicle and will be legally-protected as one.
However, other rules dictate how and where you can use your cart in many ways.
For example, golf carts and low-speed vehicles must operate only on roads with a speed limit below 35 miles per hour.
Getting on any state or federal highway with a faster limit is dangerous and will be prosecuted.
However, golf carts can cross at intersections that have a speed limit above 35 miles per hour.
That said, they cannot travel on the roads with this faster speed limit.
Importantly, all golf carts turned into low-speed vehicles must have registration and insurance, including minimal liability coverage.
You must also have a valid Maine’s driver license when using one of these carts.
However, these rules do not apply if you are driving your cart on a private road.
These roads are considered your property and you can follow any driving behavior that you want here.
Federal Golf Cart Laws
Even though our guides are thorough and researched, it is highly recommended that you perform your own research and check with your local municipality on rules as well.
Leave a Reply