Utah Golf Cart Laws
Therefore, you need to fully understand them if you want to take these carts out on any roads.
Make sure to thoroughly read through all of this information before you take out a cart.
And also, talk to your local authorities about these factors, as well, because cities often have different rules and regulations that vary based on what each community wants for its citizens.
Federal Rules for Golf Carts and Low-Speed Vehicles
Under the current federal law, golf carts are not considered motor vehicles.
That’s because they cannot top speeds of up to 20 miles per hour.
Therefore, the federal government allows individual states to set rules and guidelines on the manufacture and use of these carts on roads.
However, they have stricter laws for low-speed vehicle use.
These carts are those manufactured to travel faster than 20 miles per hour but not faster than 25 miles per hour or golf carts upgraded to do so.
When upgrading a golf cart – or purchasing a low-speed vehicle – you need to make sure that it contains the following elements: headlights, taillights, turn signals, stop lights, reflex reflectors, parking brakes, seat belts, windshields, rearview mirrors, and a vehicle identification number or a VIN.
Without these elements, your cart or vehicle will not be road legal.
So make sure that you properly enhance your car and work with legal experts to ensure it is safe to use on the way.
Utah State Laws for Golf Cart Use
Currently, Utah state laws specify a golf cart as a vehicle that; is designed for transportation by players on a golf course; in possession of at least three wheels in constant contact with the ground; weighs no more than 1,800 pounds; is designed to operate no more than 25 miles per hour; and which can carry no more than six people, including the driver.
These carts do not require registration but must have a permit and a sticker on the windshield that indicates you possess the license.
If you want to operate your golf cart on a highway – as allowed by your local municipality – you must upgrade it with headlights, taillights, turn signals, stop lights, reflex reflectors, parking brakes, and a serial number.
Unlike with federal laws for low-speed vehicles, you do not need to add a windshield.
However, you may need insurance if your municipality requires it.
Typically, this includes personal injury and property protection policies.
And you cannot travel on roads with a speed limit of higher than 25 miles per hour – unless crossing a faster one – and need a slow-moving vehicle emblem displayed on the front and back of the cart to alert other drivers to your presence.
Utah Guidelines for Low-Speed Vehicles
The moment that you upgrade your golf cart and get it registered for use in Utah, it now falls under low-speed vehicle guidelines.
As a result, you must fully understand these concepts to ensure that your cart use is as safe and regulated as possible.
Thankfully, the laws here are pretty standard for the nation and don’t vary that much from other areas near Utah.
However, there are some concepts that you must fully understand before you begin upgrading your cart.
For example, you need to get all of the required upgrades, as per federal law, to make your cart a low-speed vehicle.
However, you also need to keep in mind that a low-speed car cannot be operated if it is significantly structurally-altered from its original design.
Thankfully, this ruling is typically designed more for changes that are not aware of the upgrades mentioned above.
Talk to your local authorities to learn more about what kind of changes you are allowed and not allowed to make.
And when riding a low-speed vehicle, you cannot take more than three other people with you at the time.
Therefore, you’ll need four seat belts, one for each passenger you plan on taking with you.
And remember – you cannot travel faster than 25 miles per hour with your cart.
If you top these speeds, you are now considered a medium-speed vehicle and not a low-speed one.
Usually, this also means that your cart cannot operate on highways with posted speeds of more than 35 miles per hour.
Remember: you also need to get a VIN inspection if your cart is being titled for the first time.
Then, you can get a registration for your cart and a license for its use.
Make sure that you always have your driver’s license with you when operating your vehicle.
And purchase personal injury and property damage protection insurance policies to keep your cart safe on the road.
Federal Golf Cart Laws
Even though our guides are thorough and researched, it is highly recommended that you perform your own research and check with your local municipality on rules as well.