Nevada Golf Cart Laws
These regulations help to make sure that your carts are safely used in a way that makes them easier to manage.
Before you read these rules, make sure that you also check out the federal regulations that restrict the nature of low-speed vehicles and golf cart usage.
The Federal Guidelines for Golf Carts
The federal government currently does not regulate golf cart use.
The only restriction that they put on them is the inability to drive on national or international highways.
Otherwise, they leave the states to decide how they want to use carts.
That’s because carts cannot exceed 20 miles per hour and are, therefore, not legally considered a motor vehicle.
This factor can change with some upgrades.
For example, a cart that can travel over 20 miles per hour but under 25 miles per hour is reclassified as a low-speed vehicle.
To follow federal law, these vehicles must be adjusted to enhance safety.
These changes include headlights, taillights, stoplights, turn signals, reflex reflectors, parking brakes, seat belts, rearview mirrors, and a vehicle identification number or VIN.
State Laws for Golf Carts
If you want to ride a golf cart on roads in Nevada, you need to check with local authorities before assuming you are okay.
That’s because the state mostly allows the cities to handle where and when they want golf carts to ride on their roads.
And in most of these cities, you won’t have to register or license your cart.
Otherwise, you must obey all speed limits to keep yourself safe on the road.
That said, a population-based limit does restrict you in a few ways.
For example, if the county where you are using the cart has a population of over 700,000, then you need to get a permit.
Remember: this is the population for the county, not a city.
Though not many places in Nevada have that population density, areas near Las Vegas likely qualify for this restriction.
And if you do live in a county of this size, you must register your cart and get a DMV VIN inspection.
Here is the inspection form: https://dmvnv.com/pdfforms/vp015.pdf
These stations are scattered throughout the state and can grant you a VIN for your vehicle.
If you already have a VIN, they can check it to make sure that it is accurate.
Beyond that step, you also need to purchase liability ($10,000) and bodily injury ($15,000) for your cart as well.
Upgrades to your cart include headlights, taillights, reflectors, stop lights, mirrors, brakes, and an emblem for a slow-moving vehicle.
While a few of these upgrades are similar for those on a low-speed car, a golf cart at this level won’t have the speed necessary to qualify.
As a result, you are not subject to the same restrictions – however, you still need to follow proper traffic laws.
Let’s emphasize this fact one last time before moving on – these restrictions are only in place in counties with a population of over 700,000.
And only if they allow golf cart use.
Many areas do not allow the use of carts at all.
So a city in a county with a high population may ban their use.
As a result, you cannot take your cart here and may be fined by the city if you do so.
Low-Speed Vehicle Laws
Once your cart is a low-speed vehicle, there are many hurdles to riding it.
For example, low-speed cars must have four wheels and be capable of obtaining a speed of at least 20 miles per hour on a level, paved surface in a mile or less.
Their top speed cannot be above 25 miles per hour, or else they fall under the heading of a medium-speed vehicle.
The guidelines for these vehicles in Nevada are less clear and often vary depending on the community in which you are driving.
Just as importantly, a low-speed vehicle cannot be over 3,000 pounds and must comply with all safety standards created by the Federal Motor Safety Standard.
A professional inspection can confirm these standards at a local DMV or vehicle facility.
Once you obtain this verification, your vehicle may be eligible for registration.
Remember: your low-speed vehicle is not a cart any more but is now a motor vehicle. These changes your legal requirements for driving it.
For example, you cannot drive on roads with speeds of over 35 miles per hour.
The only time you can is if you are crossing a roadway at a proper intersection.
You are only temporarily riding on that road and cannot suddenly veer onto it.
Instead, you must pass it as quickly as you can because you are still technically on the legally-appropriate road.
You must also obey all traffic laws and pay taxes, get your gas motor inspected for emissions, and get liability and collision coverage on your cart.
Federal Golf Cart Laws
Even though our guides are thorough and researched, it is highly recommended that you perform your own research and check with your local municipality on rules as well.