Nebraska Golf Cart Laws
Nebraska’s laws on golf carts and low-speed vehicle use are particular.
Unlike some states, that mostly allow the cities to come up with their own regulations, Nebraska takes a more proactive stance.
That doesn’t necessarily mean that this state’s laws are stricter than usual.
All it typically indicates is that the state takes the use of carts and low-speed vehicles more seriously.
Federal Rules for Golf Cart and Low-Speed Vehicle Use
Currently, the federal government does not allow golf carts or low-speed vehicles on their freeways.
That ruling is unlikely to change any time soon.
That’s because it is put into place to protect riders from physical injury while on the road.
Just as importantly, these rules also help to keep your carts riding smoothly and efficiently and keep you from breaking down.
International freeways are also off-limits.
However, the federal government does allow states to set rules and laws regarding golf cart use and low-speed vehicles.
Many states choose to further pass the buck off to local authorities as a way of giving them more control.
Therefore, the regulations can vary quite surprisingly in many different areas.
Further understanding these changes can help you execute them properly.
That said, the federal government does have a set of laws that dictate what qualifies as a low-speed vehicle.
These include any motor vehicles that can travel at least 20 miles per hour but no faster than 25 miles per hour.
The motor type doesn’t matter, as long as it capable of reaching those speeds.
Safety upgrades include windshields, rearview mirrors, seat belts for each rider, stop lights, turn signals, taillights, reflex reflectors, parking brakes, headlights, and a vehicle identification number or VIN.
Nebraska State Laws on Golf Carts
Nebraska law defines a golf cart as a four-wheeled vehicle with a maximum ground speed of less than 20 miles per hour.
Golf carts have a payload capacity of less than 1,200 pounds, weight less than 2,500 pounds, hold no more than four people, are designed for operation on a golf course, and is a vehicle not currently on a golf course.
Though those carts are still carts, legally, they are on private property and are, therefore, not subject to the same types of laws and controls.
State laws indicate that these carts can be used on public roadways under particular circumstances.
For example, you can usually ride on roads that are next to golf courses and which are consistently used by golfers.
Often, cities declare that these roads are okay for carts to ride.
Some may limit them, as well, which is something that the state law allows cities to decide.
When no city law is in place, the state law goes into effect here.
In the same way, cities may grant residents the ability to ride on specific streets in their municipality.
Any road on which they drive, though, must be a local one.
Cities cannot grant the ability to ride on any state or federal highways.
Specific laws still restrict these.
Make sure to talk to city officials near you to learn more about where you can and cannot operate a golf cart.
And unless city law states otherwise, the state also controls other elements of golf cart use.
For example, you need a valid Class O operator’s license.
You must also have liability insurance on the golf cart to keep it protected.
And you usually cannot travel faster than 20 miles per hour, drive on roads with speed limits over 35 miles per hour, or operate outside of sunset to sunrise hours.
State Rules for Low-Speed Vehicles
Once your golf cart can travel over 20 miles per hour but slower than 25 miles per hour – and you have fitted it with the proper federal safety upgrades – it is a low-speed vehicle.
These vehicles can weigh up to 3,000 pounds and must be certified to meet Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards.
Likewise, they must be appropriately licensed and registered to operate on any street where they are allowed.
Street restrictions include any road with a speed rate higher than 35 miles per hour.
Carts and low-speed vehicles may cross these streets at appropriate intersections, though these vary depending on the municipality.
All golf carts upgraded to become a low-speed vehicle are no longer legally a golf cart and must be treated as a motor vehicle by state and local authorities.
For example, you may be ticketed for riding too fast or for drunk driving.
The penalties will be the same as if you were riding a normal-sized vehicle.
Therefore, you need to make sure that you talk to your local authorities about registration.
Once you register, you will get a license to place on the cart.
Also, you must buy liability and property damage insurance to protect your cart.
At this point, it is usually street legal and ready to go.
Federal Golf Cart Laws
Even though our guides are thorough and researched, it is highly recommended that you perform your own research and check with your local municipality on rules as well.