Maryland Golf Cart Laws
Though Maryland may be a somewhat small state territorial, it has many laws that help to keep it safe.
Just a few of these laws include its golf cart regulations.
Many people want to ride golf carts on roads in this state but must follow federal, state, and local regulations.
Like with other states, these laws can vary wildly depending on what a state wants to do.
Federal Regulations Do Affect Maryland
The federal government has no rules on golf cart use beyond the fact that they cannot be used on federal or international highways.
They let state and local authorities decide how they want to use carts in their area.
They do, however, have some rules and regulations for low-speed vehicles, which include any manufactured to ride above 20 miles per hour but lower than 25 miles per hour.
As a result, you must make sure that you talk to your state officials about these regulations to see how they apply to you.
While golf carts and low-speed vehicles are not allowed on federal or international highways, state and local rules may differ.
Read on to find out where you can ride golf carts and low-speed vehicles in Maryland to make sure that you follow all proper regulations.
Maryland State Laws Vary in Many Ways
Currently, Maryland does not allow golf carts to travel on public roads.
This law applies to every city in the state, except for Crisfield.
Here, you can ride golf carts on city streets, including state and county roads within the borders of the town.
Some roads may be off-limits, though, so pay attention to these factors if you visit this city.
However, other cities may have limited circumstances in which carts can be on roads.
For example, the state allows golf carts in all cities to briefly cross a public street in very limited circumstances.
These include if the cart s traveling from one road on a golf course to another.
No other cart use is tolerated except, perhaps, for driving a golf cart from non-golf-course private land to another type of private land.
This use has not been defined by the state, so make sure to talk to authorities near you to make sure you can do this if you want to try it.
However, Maryland does follow federal regulations for low-speed vehicle transportation.
And since you can upgrade a cart to be a low-speed vehicle, they can technically be used as one.
However, you need to follow all guidelines and rules to make sure that you do everything legally.
Please note: Maryland also has rules for medium-speed vehicles.
These vehicles can travel on any road that has a speed limit that is at least five miles per hour over their maximum speed.
Maryland’s Definition of Low-Speed Vehicles
Maryland currently follows the rules and guidelines in place by the federal government.
As a result, you need to upgrade your cart to make it road-ready for many different situations.
These include adding headlights, taillights, turn signals, parking brakes, reflex reflectors, rearview mirrors, windshields, seat belts, stop lights, and getting a vehicle identification number or VIN for your cart.
Please note: golf carts that do not qualify for low-speed vehicle status do not need this kind of registration.
Though use of golf carts on roads is limited in Maryland, as mentioned before, there are some areas where it may be legal.
Again, always stay in touch with your local authorities to know for certain whether or not golf cart use is okay in your part of the state.
All riders of low-speed vehicles (but not golf carts) also need a valid driver’s license.
People without one cannot drive a cart but can ride on one driven by a person with a license.
All low-speed vehicles must also be licensed after getting registered.
Before you do this, though, you need to get a VIN for your cart at a local DMV office near you.
At this point, a DMV official will check your cart’s safety upgrades.
They will also make sure that the cart weighs less than 3,000 pounds and that it can reach speeds of 20 miles per hour but no more than 25 miles per hour.
Once they are satisfied that you have met these requirements, they will give you a VIN.
Now, you can register and license your vehicle.
Display your license on the cart when on the road.
Federal Golf Cart Laws
Even though our guides are thorough and researched, it is highly recommended that you perform your own research and check with your local municipality on rules as well.