Wyoming Golf Cart Laws
Among the 50 states in the country, Wyoming is one of the least populated.
However, residents here have many beautiful roads and fantastic scenery to enjoy.
And visitors or those who may vacation here may want to take a golf cart or a low-speed vehicle – which do differ – out for a spin.
Before you do so, you need to understand the rules and regulations that dictate their use fully.
How the Federal Government Regulates Cart Use
Currently, the federal government does not consider golf carts to be motor vehicles.
There are a few reasons for this lack of interest.
First of all, golf carts are not capable of speeds of up to 20 miles per hour, as manufactured.
This means that they are not federally, motor vehicles, and cannot be regulated as such.
Just as importantly, they do not pass federal guidelines for low-speed cars either.
Instead, the federal government lets states decide how they want to handle the demands of golf cart management within their borders.
Many of these states often allow municipalities or cities to control where carts can go and where they do not.
When this happens, a golf cart must follow not only federal rules – typically, only that they cannot ride on national or international highways – as well as state and local guidelines for golf cart use.
Those particular rules for Wyoming will be discussed in more depth later in this article.
For now, though, you must understand the guidelines necessary for low-speed vehicles at the federal level.
Currently, they ask that all cars of this type have headlamps, stop lamps, turn signal lamps, taillamps, reflex reflectors, parking brakes, rearview mirrors, windshields, seat belts, and a vehicle identification number or VIN.
All of these upgrades transform a golf cart into a low-speed vehicle.
And with this transformation comes a new set of laws and rules that you must follow.
Typically, states allow low-speed vehicles on more roads than they do golf carts.
The following details are split into two sections – golf cart rules in Wyoming and low-speed vehicle rules.
Fully understanding these aspects will keep your cart and LSV use legal and free from any complications.
Laws for Golf Carts on Wyoming Roads
Currently, Wyoming’s golf cart laws are not as precise as they are in other states.
That said, they do have a few guidelines that dictate what they do consider golf carts or multipurpose vehicles.
This latter vehicle type may be regarded as a golf cart in some limited circumstances.
So before we move on to much further, let’s first see how Wyoming defines golf carts.
They state that golf carts are vehicles with at least three wheels in constant contact with the ground.
Four is typically preferable, but three-wheel golf carts do exist.
The cart also must have an unladen weight of fewer than 1,300 pounds.
Any more substantial and the cart may be qualified as a different type of vehicle.
Beyond that, the cart must be capable of speeds of no more than 15 miles per hour.
This restriction is more strict than that of the federal government.
That’s because states can make rules more stringent than federal guidelines but not less complicated.
For example, golf carts in Wyoming must be capable of carrying no more than four people, including the driver.
Some states allow more passengers on carts, which varies depending on many different factors.
And golf carts are also designed to haul golf equipment and must be used to transport occupants to or from a golf course or may be used for special events or circumstances by a city or county.
These events must get an individual cart registration.
And a multipurpose vehicle is one that has at least four wheels on the ground at all times and a weight of at least 300 pounds but no more than 3,000 pounds.
They must also have a permanent seat or saddle for the driver that is at least 24 inches from the ground.
These vehicles are often upgraded to become low-speed autos, which Wyoming allows on a variety of different roads.
As for golf carts, ask your local municipality about where you can ride, as each city has different guidelines to consider.
Guidelines for Low-Speed Vehicles
Low-speed vehicles need to meet the safety guidelines mentioned above to ride on any Wyoming state roads.
Unfortunately, the state has not published their laws online for more original research.
Based on common requirements, though, you can anticipate needing to get your cart registered and licensed before you can drive.
You also need to have a driver’s license to take it out on roads.
And most states will restrict low-speed vehicles to roads with speeds of up to 25 miles per hour or 35 miles per hour.
And many states allow cities to make rules for their paths.
So reach out to Wyoming DMV officials near you to learn more.
Federal Golf Cart Laws
Even though our guides are thorough and researched, it is highly recommended that you perform your own research and check with your local municipality on rules as well.