Florida Golf Cart Laws
Florida is a very large state that has many different cities and regions that dictate its laws.
As a result, it is important to fully understand how golf carts are used in this state.
Some areas are very strict about their control while others are less restrictive.
All of these areas fall under the limitations of Florida law, however.
So read on to learn more about what to expect when riding a golf cart in this state.
Federal Laws Influence Florida Statutes
Golf carts typically do not fall under the jurisdiction of the federal government.
The only time they would is if a rider took a cart on a national or international highway.
At this point, federal authorities could arrest them for improper use of a cart.
That’s because they do not allow low-speed vehicles on any federal or international highway.
The only exception would be in some states that have intersections between state roads.
Then, the cart would technically be on a state or city highway.
Generally, though, the federal government does not set rules for low-speed vehicles.
They do ask that any low-speed vehicle be one that is manufactured to go faster than 20 miles per hour.
At this point, all vehicles of this type must have headlamps, stop lights, turn signals, taillamps, reflect reflectors, rearview mirrors, windshields, seat belts, and vehicle identification numbers.
However, there may be loopholes in this law that many try to take advantage of in Florida.
For example, many golf carts are not manufactured to go faster than 20 miles per hour but can be upgraded to do so.
Does that mean that these carts are not low-speed vehicles and can ignore state and federal laws?
Not at all. These carts are now low-speed vehicles when upgraded properly.
As a result, they must follow all regulations of your state and local governments.
Failure to do so could result in prosecution from the appropriate authorities.
Jurisdiction is decided based on the highway on which the cart committed a crime.
For example, state authorities would prosecute if you were on a state road.
State Laws for Florida
Florida’s laws for low-speed vehicles – and by extension, golf carts – are pretty straight forward.
Any cart used in this way must have safe tires, a rearview mirror, reflector warning devices, efficient brakes, and a reliable steering apparatus.
Upgrades to the engine are often necessary to reach appropriate speeds but are not required.
Currently, state law does not state that a golf cart needs steering wheels or windshields in Florida unless taken on public roads.
When done, each cart needs belts for each rider.
Roads where carts can travel are limited to those that local governments authorize for carts.
Usually, these vary depending on the city.
In areas with golf courses, many cities allow carts on just about every road.
Other regions only allow carts in residential areas while others ban them completely.
You need to pay attention to these factors before you try upgrading or riding your cart.
You may be subject to different laws based on where you ride your cart in the state.
Florida currently bans night cart driving in areas that do not allow it.
Individual cities have the right to decide if they want to allow night driving.
If they do not specifically specify that it is allowed, the state law overrides them and riders are not allowed to ride at night.
Any cart that wants to ride at night must be upgraded to do so.
You’ll need headlights, brake lights, turn signals, and a windshield.
At this point, your cart is considered safe to drive at night and can be used as such.
Other Laws to Consider
Currently, Florida limits golf carts on roads that have posted speed limits of 30 miles per hour.
However, the state does allow carts to cross streets with posted speed limits of 45 miles per hour.
Crossing at highways with faster speed limits is forbidden.
In this way, Florida is more strict than some states, as others may allow this crossing in specific circumstances.
Importantly, golf carts cannot be operated on public roads or streets by anybody under the age of 14.
In fact, a person needs a license to drive a cart in this state and must get a license for the cart as well.
And carts cannot ride faster than 20 miles per hour.
Though they can reach these speeds, riding faster is considered a danger for the driver and others on the road and will be punished.
When getting a license for your cart, you need to bring personal identification, application fees, titles fees, registration fees, and proof of insurance.
Expect to pay anywhere from $75-85 for a title, $28 for a plate, and around $225 to register.
These rates will vary depending on how much your cart weighs.
You need $10,000 property damage and personal injury protection insurance coverage before you register or ride on your cart.
Federal Golf Cart Laws
Even though our guides are thorough and researched, it is highly recommended that you perform your own research and check with your local municipality on rules as well.
Leave a Reply