Oregon Golf Cart Laws
Oregon has become an increasingly popular state to visit, due to the ever-expanding Portland area.
However, there are many more places where you can travel when in this state.
And if you do, you may want to try out golf carts, low-speed, or medium-speed vehicles.
Like all other states in the country, Oregon has many laws and rules that dictate how you can use these carts.
Federal Laws for Golf Carts
The federal government does not set laws for golf cart use on any state, county, or local laws.
That’s because they do not consider golf carts motor vehicles, as they cannot reach speeds over 20 miles per hour.
However, they do restrict golf cart use on federal and international highways.
Therefore, you must check each state’s guidelines to see what to expect in this situation.
Just as importantly, you need to know what states and cities say about low-speed vehicles.
These motorized carts are those that have been upgraded to travel above 20 miles per hour but no more than 25 miles per hour.
At this point, the federal government demands many safety upgrades, including stoplights, headlights, turn signals, taillights, parking brakes, rearview mirrors, reflex reflectors, windshields, a vehicle identification number, and a windshield.
That said, the federal government does not restrict how these low-speed vehicles are used in each state.
This factor is similar to how they decide on speed limits and other traffic concepts within state limits.
The state and each municipality – including counties – can dictate how vehicles are used on their roads.
That said, most states have pretty similar laws to ensure a consistent level of travel between each.
Oregon Laws for Golf Carts
State laws for golf carts in Oregon are not as detailed as they are in some other states.
As written, the state allows road authorities in a county or city to allow golf cart use on any roads between a golf course and the place where they are parked or stored on private property.
This includes golf courses, real estate developments, and other areas near a golf course.
The roads must be adjacent to these areas.
That said, the state also allows local authorities to decide where and when they want golf carts to ride on their roads.
Typically, this means that you cannot take golf carts out on state highways because these carts are not fast enough for these roadways.
Just as importantly, you need to make sure that the city where you travel has allowed cart usage on the roads on which you want to ride.
The multitude of cities and counties in Oregon typically have different rules and guidelines, so you must talk to these officials ASAP.
Standard guidelines including riding on roads with speeds of up to but no more than 25 miles per hour.
Usually, carts will need a “slow moving” vehicle sign, as well.
Unfortunately, information on allowed drivers is not easy to find n the state law, so this may vary based on the city too.
Low-Speed Vehicle State Laws
In Oregon, all low-speed vehicles must be upgraded as per the federal regulations.
These rules help to dictate what qualifies as one of these motorized vehicles.
For example, they need to have windshields, stoplights, and other upgrades that make them safe for the road.
However, Oregon also has a few other regulations that are not put in place by the federal government.
That’s because states can add new rules to the federal ones, as long as they don’t conflict or attempt to change federal laws.
For example, all low-speed vehicles in Oregon must be capable of 20 miles per hour but no more than 25 miles per hour.
This rule is familiar with the federal guidelines.
However, the state also asks that no low-speed vehicle weight over 3,000 pounds.
That is why they need a VIN – this number allows you to register and license your cart.
Remember: your cart is now a motor vehicle and is no longer legally a cart.
Therefore, you must treat it as you would any other car you ride on the road.
As for where and who can ride a cart, you can only ride on city and county roads with a speed limit of 35 miles per hour or below.
And you can cross some state highways, as long as the way on which you pass is approved for legal cart travel.
Those who drive carts must have a valid driver’s license and must also obey all traffic laws to avoid complications with their journey.
As always, talk to your local officials to ensure you properly follow any rules that they may have set in place for low-speed vehicle use.
Federal Golf Cart Laws
Even though our guides are thorough and researched, it is highly recommended that you perform your own research and check with your local municipality on rules as well.